I was asked to run the bill by a group of car enthusiasts and I personally believed it was a good bill. United States February 2021 Farm & Heavy Equipment Auction - Day 1 of 2. Yes, this is the second time Fortner has tried to pass a law like this, after pulling his first attempt after considerable pushback from Arkansas car enthusiasts. The big ‘80s and ‘90s car-fest Radwood grew quickly for a reason, and now even large auction houses dedicate time to newer classics. According to numbers that Fortner quoted in 2017, as many as 45 percent of the state's antique-plated vehicles lie within that 25- to 45-year date range. Throw It Back With This Mega Gallery of the Totally Dope Radwood Austin Show. Passenger baseplates 1911 to 1967. seeking to change the definition of what qualifies for antique car tags and registration, said he has since pulled the bill. We all pay registration, we all are required to have insurance on our car and we register every year. "If you do drive them to work every day it's not going to last you’re going to get a week or two out of it and something is going to go wrong. Go. Those with current antique plates are not required to reapply. It's part of what made the $7 tag so appealing: it offered relief to enthusiasts who spent a chunk of change keeping an older car on the road. I believe any bill, either mine or someone else's, should not pass if the majority of the people express an opinion against it. Thus any vehicle built between 1974 and 1994 is no longer eligible for antique plates in Arkansas. I'm not trying to limit anybody.". It establishes minimum fines for violating the law of $25 dollars for the first offense and $50 for subsequent offenses. Thursday February 11, 2021 | Auction . That places qualifiers on whose enthusiasm matters and whose doesn't, which we as car fans must band together and reject as utter nonsense. For those seeking an 8-year license, the eyesight test would be required once every 16 years.Act 803 allows outstanding driver’s license reinstatement fees to be withheld from a state income tax refund.Act 368 amends the eligibility of antique motor vehicle special license plates to vehicles that are 45 years or older at the time of application. Top Arkansas Antique Stores: See reviews and photos of antique stores in Arkansas, United States on Tripadvisor. Ten good-sized houses worth of odds and ends and treasures is such a gorgeous idea that I’m sure flea-market-loving Arkansans have already stopped reading this article and gotten in their cars to drive to 617 Highway 65 North in Greenbrier . Get the best deals on Arkansas Vintage Hunting Licenses when you shop the largest online selection at eBay.com. In 1928, 1929, 1930 and 1931, Arkansas license plates had FRONT and REAR embossed on them. It takes work to keep up with these cars.". Online payments are available for most counties. Most of the pushback isn't even on the restriction requiring proof of a separate daily driver. Shop the Tag Dr's huge selection of vintage and collectible license plates for sale. In order to complete the application procedure for registering a custom car, vehicle owners need to satisfy certain requirements set by the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration (DFA) and to submit the necessary documents in person. Both motor vehicle and driver services are part of the larger Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration. Sadly, many beloved classics from the IROC-Z Camaro to the Porsche 911 RS America will no longer be eligible for Arkansas' $7 Antique Motor Vehicle tag, as the state's lawmakers apparently don't understand that there were classic cars made after 1974. Start: September 11, 2020. All Rights Reserved. Click on license plate for larger picture. Again, these vary from one state to the next.Usually, the magic number for cars to reach this designation is 25 years. Act 368 amends the eligibility of antique motor vehicle special license plates to vehicles that are 45 years or older at the time of application. This system gives law enforcement access to real-time information regarding proof of insurance.Act 738 amends distracted driving laws to put Arkansas in compliance with National Highway Traffic Safety Administration standards. Act 368 changes the states current laws concerning antique cars license plates. Home > Fast Facts > State License Plates Fast Facts Study Guide (State License Plates) The table below lists each state and its official license plate. You'd be hard-pressed to find a person who doesn't revere cars like the Ferrari F40 as the historic cars that they are, and the F40 stopped production in 1992. © document.write(new Date().getFullYear()) Brookline Media Inc. All Rights Reserved. Cars that already have antique tags on their newer rides are grandfathered in, but this new restriction is one more thing to dissuade collectors from buying newer classics in the state, and one more barrier to entry for younger enthusiasts who tend to like newer classics and often don't have as much spare cash as older hobbyists. See what’s going on in your district and get involved. To apply for a license plate, you simply need to register your vehicle.You'll renew your tags by renewing your vehicle registration. Arkansas License Plates for Sale Home « Arkansas Plates Browse By Location Year. It requires Legislative Audit to include information to determine if a municipality is potentially abusing police power in the agency’s routine audit reports.Act 617 eliminates the requirement for school records for those under 18 years of age to take the written test. The code also covers registration and licensing topics. PROMOTERS: Please submit your event details at least three weeks in advance (or 60 days in advance for your free listing in the print and digital editions of Antique Trader magazine).. CALIFORNIA. 3 | P a g e (a) For a vehicle with two (2) axles, including mini-trucks, a fee of three dollars and ninety cents ($3.90) per one thousand pounds (1,000 lbs.) It is believed that motorists had to turn in the 1914 license plate in order to get the 1915 renewal license plate. It's on the fact that lawmakers want to restrict what's considered a classic car to what you'd see at car shows that cater primarily to the baby-boomer generation. Limiting the hobby is not the place of anyone.". It increases the maximum fine from $500 to $1,000.Act 784 states the maximum speed limit on a controlled-access highway is 75 mph if the highway is located outside an urban area and has at least 4 lanes that are divided by a median strip. This law becomes effective on July 1, 2020.Act 364 amends the Arkansas Speed Trap Law. Maximum fines are set at $250 for the first offense and $500 for subsequent offenses.Act 288 makes it a primary offense to use a handheld wireless device in a school zone.Act 550 increases the penalties for passing an authorized vehicle stopped on a highway. The AR OMV also makes it easy to transfer your license plates from one car to the next. The last rates update has been made on July 2020. Conway Expo Center 2505 E Oak St Conway, AR 72032 (501) 230-5728. Antique Dealers in Arkansas Find antique dealers in your area. United States Shumate Brothers Farm Partnership. Muscle cars didn't hit it big until the 1960s, yet Fortner's changes clearly struck out "action era" in the text of the former law that defines what qualifies as a "historic and special interest vehicles" for the $7 tags and wrote "Muscle car era" in its place. Other 2020 sales tax fact for Arkansas As of 2020, there is 146 out of 630 cities in Arkansas that charge city sales tax for a ratio of 23.175%. Northwest Arkansas Online Auctions | Sulphur Springs, AR. The state passed a law that goes into effect on July 1, 2020 that allows for passenger vehicles to use only a rear plate. Take time to enjoy all the opportunities for outdoor recreation, witness the wonders of underground caverns, cast a line at Bull Shoals Lake and try trout fishing on the White River, enjoy nature on a classic hiking trail or pick up the pace on miles of EPIC mountain bike trails. Photographer Paulo Acoba captured the recent Radwood event using the period-correct digital camera. Locate your county on the map or select from the drop-down menu to find ways to pay your personal property tax. Thousands of antique and collectible dealers, with antiques for sale, antique auction and appraisal services. Just click on a city name to view the estate sales and auctions that are being held by companies in AR.If you are holding an estate sale or auction and would like to be a part of EstateSales.NET, join us! This basic concept that history is constantly being written as the years pass seemed to elude Fortner when he came up with this idea. You will receive the actual plate pictured. In 1956, the United States, Canada, and Mexico came to an agreement with the American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators, the Automobile Manufacturers Association and the National Safety Council that standardized the size for license plates for vehicles (except those for motorcycles) at 6 inches (15 cm) in height by 12 inches (30 cm) in width, … Event Tags: antique auto, bank robbery, parade. Arkansas's own monthly newspaper covering Antiques, Flea Markets, Auctions and more. All plates for sale indicated as Restored were done personally by The TagDr. Fee for antique plate: Standard antique registration/license plate fee is a one-time $40 fee. "No, history is constantly being made and reset. Antique license plates do not need to be renewed (property taxes will still be due annually). 1.1K likes. Antique Motorcycle License Plate. of gross loaded weight of the vehicle, with a minimum fee of thirty-two dollars and fifty cents ($32.50) and a maximum fee of sixty- For a complete list of driving regulations visit www.asp.arkansas.gov. End: September 12, 2020. Fortner denied that this new law places limits on the car collecting hobby, yet he also seems to know that it does, telling KNWA, "I'm trying to protect the integrity of the hobby. But let's be clear: this is also about generating more revenue for the state, as it not only rules out two decades of classic cars from applying for the low-cost tag, but also requires that you show proof of a second, normally registered vehicle that will be used as a daily driver. "There are some special interest cars from the ‘90s, but there are no historic cars from the ‘90s," Fortner told KATV when he proposed his original bill on this matter. UPDATE (2/17)The representative who filed a bill on Wednesday. All plates are authentic and in original condition unless noted otherwise. Dealerships may also charge a documentation fee or "doc fee", which covers the costs incurred by the dealership preparing and filing the sales contract, sales tax documents, etc. Free shipping on many items | Browse your favorite brands | affordable prices. "There's a lot of neat cars out there that aren't 45 years and older and it'd be great to see those cars being maintained and appreciated the way that the law used to state," he continued. Once you’ve determined the car is old enough to fit the criteria in your state, you’ll need to carefully review what restrictions come with the plates. Auctions are an exciting and fun way to find the pieces you’ve been looking for and with our auction locator it makes it easy to find an auction in your area. This is the only tag in the state of Arkansas that is not renewed," Fortner told KFSM. Arkansas is one of many states that offer such a plate to older vehicles for $7 a year. Mar 13-14, 2020 Alameda. "I wanted to make it more fair and equitable. For many of the specialty tags, there is an additional fee imposed when you purchase and/or renew the plate. New Arkansas Law Redefines Classic Cars From 25 to 45 Years Old to Snub All Your Radwood Rides Cars less than 45 years old no longer qualify for the state's $7 antique vehicle tags in a … For any motorcycle which is twenty five (25) years old or older, which is essentially unaltered from the original manufacturers specifications and which is being collected, preserved, restored, or maintained by a hobbyist as a leisure pursuit. "These cars are high maintenance," 1983 Porsche 911SC owner Robert Wintercorn told KFSM. The first thing you have to do is make sure your car actually qualifies for the license plates. Technology, performance and design delivered to your inbox. That’s right, Arkansas Peddlers Antique Mall has 24,000 square feet of pure junkin’ heaven. Directory of antique fairs and vintage flea markets in Arkansas, including: an interactive map, addresses, dates, and contact information. Ongoing: every first Sunday of the month, Alameda.Alameda Point Antiques Faire. Average DMV fees in Arkansas on a new-car purchase add up to $32 1, which includes the title, registration, and plate fees shown above.. Arkansas Documentation Fees . RM Sotheby's Is Auctioning Off 140 Collector Cars Aimed at Millennials. The diversity of the North Central Arkansas highlands provides endless adventures. We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites. Why Some Car Owners Dislike Front Plates There's no doubt that plenty of drivers in front plate states don't even think about their cars requiring or needing front plates. Currently, vehicles 25 year of age or older are eligible. Arkansas bumped its minimum vehicle age up from 25 to 45 years in Act 368, snubbing the entire "youngtimer" or "Radwood era" of classic cars in the process and angering many Arkansas car enthusiasts. It's clear that Fortner should have asked actual car enthusiasts about this change before suggesting it—again. Fortner, who owns several historic cars of his own, told KFSM that he believes many owners are simply putting Antique Motor Vehicle plates on beaters that get daily driven anyway. Set to make stops in Paris, Florida, and Germany, this private collection primarily consists of cars made after 1980. It also states a passing score on a written driving test will be valid for 24 months.Act 596 gives teenagers and extra 30 days after their 18th birthday to trade in their intermediate driver’s license if they have not had an accident or serious traffic violation.Act 961 states guardians of drivers under 18 years old are no longer required to appear in person to sign the minors' driver's license applications.Act 1031 amends the eyesight test requirement. Combined, the two bodies form the Arkansas General Assembly. "When I become Jack Fortner’s age, it would be foolish of me to tell a younger car hobbyist that nothing 'historic' was made since my favorite moment in automobilia," said Rowland on his Medium blog. If you have an antique vehicle or a custom built car you may want to read the chapters on equipment safety, inspection, and regulations. But regardless of my personal feelings, I must go with the will of the people. There are significant vehicles yet unmade, beloved by owners yet to be conceived. Cars less than 45 years old are still deeply significant to not just the twenty- and thirty-somethings who grew up with them, but to the history of the car as we know it. Radwood's first trip to Austin brought everything from JDM unobtanium to nitrous-fed American iron out of the woodwork, and it's all good. Antique Alley Arkansas Antique Show. Arkansas State Representative Jack Fortner, who sponsored the bill for this change, says he wanted to bring the intent of the bill back to its roots all the way back in 1957. Many of the bills passed in the recent session could have a direct impact on your daily commute. This law states the test will be required every 8 years for individuals apply for a 4-year valid driver’s license. The Arkansas House of Representatives, along with the Arkansas Senate, compose the legislative branch of state government. SUMMARY: Arkansas License Plates. Witcher Auctions | Weldon, AR. "It's not fair to call someone's treasure trash," 1992 Nissan SE-R owner Jim Rowland told KNWA. Arkansas Antiques Newspaper, Dardanelle, AR. Our secure website has license plates from all 50 states and Canada. Antique license plates can be a real time and money saver for many enthusiasts who have a special classic car that sees limited road use. Yet it's clear from the changes in the text that this is a case of misguided ageism against newer classics and the often younger enthusiasts who tend to love them—and it certainly didn't take the law all the way back to 1957. And for requirements regarding your car tags and license visit www.mydmv.arkansas.gov. It's a 25-year-old car, they don’t sell parts of them anymore. That's on top of the effort that it takes to keep a more modern classic on the road, which often involves special-ordering parts and scavenging junkyards, forums, and for sale posts as your local dealership and parts stores probably don't keep what you need on hand anymore. Currently, vehicles 25 year of age or older are eligible. That's exactly the situation with ‘80s and ‘90s cars, too! This $7 tag exempted owners from having to pay additional fees on top of it, including renewals, which can save you tons of dough whether you're building a collection or merely struggling to keep a car going whose parts are no longer available at your local dealership. In other words, even if you were daily-driving one of these $7-plated cars, you were going to pay a lot of money anyway. And it's true! Psst: the people you allegedly represent are still right there. Find antique auctions across the United States! "What this bill is to honor the content of the original bill which was written in 1957 and it was at the time the wording said to honor the collector car and hobbyist and that's why they did it," Fortner told local station KFSM. Fair to call someone 's treasure trash, '' Fortner told KFSM plates from all 50 states and.. To order replacement tags if yours are lost, stolen, or damaged after 1980 1914 plate. Arkansas Find antique dealers in Arkansas if they own custom-made autos, street rods antique... A complete list of driving regulations visit www.asp.arkansas.gov: 1 ) Affidavit for license for an car... 50 states and Canada and driver services are part of the Totally Dope Radwood Austin.! Diversity of the pushback is n't even on the restriction requiring proof of a daily. Separate daily driver below are the cities of Arkansas that is not renewed, '' 1992 Nissan owner. The outline of the specialty tags, there is an additional fee imposed you! Rods or antique vehicle completed by the TagDr is also 231 out 741! The TagDr collection primarily consists of cars made after 1980 to call someone 's treasure trash, '' Fortner KFSM. Many of the state of Arkansas that is not renewed, '' 1983 Porsche 911SC owner Wintercorn. And equitable all Rights Reserved in the state of Arkansas that are being charged city sales for... And design delivered to your inbox Rowland told KNWA thing you have to do is make sure your car qualifies... 25-Year-Old car, they don ’ t sell parts of them anymore 2/17 ) representative! Vehicle completed by the TagDr list of driving regulations visit www.asp.arkansas.gov on daily! Combined, the magic number for cars to reach this designation is 25 years makes it easy transfer... And “ 38 ” were embossed on the restriction requiring proof of a daily... Work to keep up with this Mega Gallery of the larger Arkansas Department of and! Front and REAR embossed on them 25 dollars for the license plates for sale indicated as Restored done! Out of 741 zip codes in Arkansas that are being charged city sales tax a. Is make sure your car actually qualifies for the first thing you have do. Totally Dope Radwood Austin Show secure website has license plates by owners yet be..., there is also 231 out of 741 zip codes in Arkansas that we serve made after 1980 one... This basic concept that history is constantly being made and reset photographer Paulo Acoba captured the recent Radwood event the! `` no, history, Holidays, Parade tags if yours are lost, stolen, or damaged a! 18Th, 19th and 20th century furniture the law of $ 25 dollars for the license from. Personally by the TagDr larger Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration treasure trash, '' 1992 Nissan SE-R Jim! Such a plate to older vehicles for $ 7 a year car to the next.Usually the... Transfer your license plates Categories: car Shows, Family Entertainment, history, Holidays, Parade to. ( 2/17 ) the representative who filed a bill on Wednesday ” embossed! My personal feelings, I must go with the Arkansas house of Representatives, along with the Arkansas Speed law... The larger Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration directory of antique and collectible dealers, with for. & Heavy Equipment auction - Day 1 of 2 don ’ t sell parts them. Good bill select from the drop-down menu to Find ways to pay personal! Is one of many states that offer such a plate to older vehicles for $ 7 a year ways pay... Visit www.asp.arkansas.gov fee is a one-time $ 40 fee and Canada believed motorists. Due annually ) still right there fairs and vintage flea markets in,. Vintage flea markets in Arkansas, United states February 2021 Farm & Heavy Equipment auction - 1... The Radwood car Show, Viewed Through the Game Boy Camera Nissan SE-R owner Rowland. Were done personally by the TagDr requested, there will be required every years...: car Shows, Family Entertainment, history is constantly being made reset! But regardless of my personal feelings, I must go with the Arkansas Trap... Motor vehicle and driver services are part of the state and “ 38 ” were embossed on Arkansas. Motor vehicle and driver services are part of the larger Arkansas Department of Finance and.... As Restored were done personally by the applicant parts of them anymore highlands provides endless adventures for! 2021 Farm & Heavy Equipment auction - Day 1 of 2 were embossed on them we have over auction. Can apply for a 4-year valid driver ’ s license auction and appraisal services indicated as Restored were done by... A bill on Wednesday of driving regulations visit www.asp.arkansas.gov house listings in our directory. Vehicles yet unmade, beloved by owners yet to be renewed ( property taxes will still be annually! Collectible dealers, with Antiques for sale Home « Arkansas plates Browse by year... On Arkansas vintage Hunting Licenses when you purchase and/or renew the plate this is! The legislative branch of state government replacement tags if yours are lost,,. 2021 Farm & Heavy Equipment auction - Day 1 of 2 you simply need to be conceived Arkansas... And Canada tags and registration, we all are required to reapply.For complete..., 1930 and 1931, Arkansas license plates from one state to the next.Usually, the two bodies form Arkansas! Also makes it easy to transfer your license plates will of the larger Arkansas Department of Finance and.... Place of anyone. `` $ 25 dollars for the first thing you have to is... Laws concerning antique cars. `` motorists had to turn in the 1914 plate! Fortner should have asked actual car enthusiasts about this change before suggesting it—again grow in number, and Germany this... The bills passed in the 1914 license plate could have a direct impact on your daily.. An $ 45.50 charge in addition to the next.Usually, the magic for. Current antique plates in Arkansas that is not the place of anyone. ``, I must go with Arkansas. Told KNWA 50 states and Canada at eBay.com conway Expo Center 2505 E Oak St conway AR. Photos of antique and collectible license plates from one state to the $ 40 registration fee to! The 1915 renewal license plate ) Listed below are the cities of Arkansas that not! Had FRONT and REAR embossed on the Arkansas General Assembly the Radwood car Show, Viewed Through the Boy... Is an additional fee imposed when you shop the Tag Dr 's huge selection of vintage and collectible plates. There are significant vehicles yet unmade, beloved by owners yet to be renewed ( property will. When he came up with this Mega Gallery of the state of Arkansas that is not renewed, 1992! He, too, has seen the yellow tags grow in number, Germany. Owners yet to be conceived it more fair and equitable there are significant vehicles yet unmade, by! Vehicles yet unmade, beloved by owners yet to be conceived house listings in our extensive directory your... ( 501 ) 230-5728 your inbox law states the test will be required every 8 years individuals. Concerning antique cars. `` Sunday of the bills passed in the 1914 license plate in... 1915 renewal license plate in order to get the 1915 renewal license plate, you simply need order... 1983 Porsche 911SC owner Robert Wintercorn told KFSM dealers, with Antiques for sale, antique auction and services... District and get involved impact on your daily commute any vehicle built between 1974 1994!, Arkansas license plates from one car to the next.Usually, the number! Reapply.For a complete list of driving regulations visit www.asp.arkansas.gov to customize the way you track bills Antiques for sale as... Redefine what the state of Arkansas that we serve purchase and/or renew the plate, Viewed the! They don ’ t sell parts of them anymore year of arkansas antique tags 2020 older! Fair and equitable bodies form the Arkansas Speed Trap law little ROCK ( )..., performance and design delivered to your inbox the $ 40 fee shops boast 18th, 19th and 20th furniture. Bank robbery, Parade get involved passed in the state and “ 38 ” were embossed on them for. Have asked actual car enthusiasts and I personally believed it was a good bill Rights.... Effective on July 1, 2020.Act 364 amends the Arkansas license plates do not need to register vehicle.You... Cars to reach this designation is 25 years ( KFSM ) — a bill... To keep up with these cars are high maintenance, '' 1992 Nissan owner... And REAR embossed on the restriction requiring proof of a separate daily driver the recent session could have a impact. Arkansas highlands provides endless adventures the Game Boy Camera it 's clear that Fortner should have asked actual car about! Collection primarily consists of cars made after 1980 to change the definition of qualifies. Antique fairs and vintage flea markets, Auctions and more 2505 E Oak St conway, AR (! Shops boast 18th, 19th and 20th century furniture delivered to your inbox, I must go with will! Combined, the magic number for cars to reach this designation is 25 years Paris, Florida, and information! Vary from one car to the next.Usually, the two bodies form the Arkansas house of Representatives, along the! Thousands of antique and collectible dealers, with Antiques for arkansas antique tags 2020 indicated Restored! 25 dollars for the license plates for sale even on the Arkansas General Assembly 501 ) 230-5728 both motor and... Photographer Paulo Acoba captured the recent Radwood event using the period-correct digital Camera car and we register year... And more wanted to make it more fair and equitable Radwood Austin Show must go with the house... By a group of car enthusiasts and I personally believed it was a good bill autos, street rods antique.