It is Michigan Law that every dog is licensed It tells everyone that your dog is updated on its rabies vaccination. What do i need to know about licensing my dog? Make sure you check your local county website to see where this can be purchased or simply ask your veterinarian. Overview. Killing of dog pursuing, worrying, or wounding livestock or poultry, or attacking person; damages for trespass; effect of license tag. If you wish to purchase a three year license, a three year rabies vaccination certificate is needed. When does my dog license expire? Licenses can be purchased between December 1st and February 28th at regular license fees. Michigan Law states that all dogs over 4 months of age must be licensed. I was referred to David Clark by a good friend and was truly impressed by his attention to detail and his professionalism. The Dog Law of 1919 was originally intended to protect livestock from stray dogs, and it still regulates dog ownership in Michigan. Also, all newly acquired dogs must be licensed within 30 days. Michigan Laws on Service Dogs and Emotional Support Animals Michigan law and federal law allow service dogs to most public places. To purchase a dog license your dog must have a current rabies vaccination. Kalamazoo County license tags are sold to … While the main reason to acquire a dog license is that’s its the law, there are a few other reasons for doing so. 20, 1970. He listened to everything I had to say and gave me a great course of action and really helped ease my mind. Issuance of dog license; information to be provided to dog owner; definitions. One-, two-, and three-year licenses are available at the locations mentioned above. It provided great identification and allows your dog to be returned to the owner if you pet is lost and found. He answered every single question that I had and what I should do next. Unfortunately, The State of Michigan has a dog leash law that dates back over 100 years. You have until March 1st of each year to renew your dog's license. Just to be safe, you should check the ordinances in your local area. As of October 1, 2011, the due date for purchasing your Muskegon County dog license became linked with the month of your dog’s rabies vaccination. Licenses for sterilized dogs are less expensive than unsterilized dogs. Late license fees start on March 1st. Michigan State Law requires all dogs to be rabies vaccinated and licensed at four (4) months of age. Dave and his son are very professional, relatable, and easy to work with. Each Detroit's license bears a unique identification number that shows your dog is registered to you. If you still have questions regarding dog bite laws in Michigan, do not hesitate to contact our personal injury lawyers at (517) 347-6900. The last day of the month of the dog's current rabies vaccination every third year All dogs over four months of age … Application for license blanks and tags; issuance of dog licenses and tags; fee; return of unused tags, books, and receipts; contents of receipt; paying over money; resolution providing that clerk perform duties of treasurer. He just finished my case and I was extremely pleased with the results. For all practical purposes, this applies to any area that is not on the owner’s property. Submit license application fee. All dogs must be licensed at: Four months of age, or Ordinance Regarding Licensing & Limitation: Sec. Loss or damage to livestock or poultry caused by dogs; complaint; examination; summons; proceedings; killing of dog; liability of owner or keeper. This usually comes in the form of a signed vaccination certificate provided by a veterinarian. The license tag also proves that you are in fact the owner of the dog. DOG LAW OF 1919 Act 339 of 1919 AN ACT relating to dogs and the protection of live stock and poultry from damage by dogs; providing for the licensing of dogs; regulating the keeping of dogs, and authorizing their destruction in certain cases; providing for the determination and payment of damages done by dogs to live stock and poultry; imposing powers and duties … Owners renewing their dog's license prior to the end of February of each year. Dog license; unlicensed and young dogs; application; fee after certain date. Copies of certification of spay or neuter from your veterinarian. He was easy to talk to and gave his time to talk to me for free. As of October 1, 2011, the due date for purchasing your Muskegon County dog license became linked with the month of your dog… Veterans Memorial Courthouse, First floor, 313 W. Kalamazoo, Lansing. no dog owner is allowed to have his or her dog stray in public unless leashed properly. While not heavily enforced, anyone who violates this law is subject to a misdemeanor charge and fines all the way up to $10,000. I just needed some legal advice regarding my medical malpractice issue and I talked to the attorney for over 15 minutes. Effective January 1, 2018: Spayed/Neutered: $10.50 (3 year license $28.50) Senior Citizen Price*: $9.75 (3 year license $26.25) Male/Female: $18.00 (3 year license $51.00) Senior Citizen Price*: $16.50 (3 year license $46.50) Delinquent after June 1st: $33.00 Dog Licenses: Why You Should License Your Dog . I highly recommend attorney David Clark. Under the dog law, it is unlawful for any person to own a dog six months or older unless the dog is licensed. By ordinance, licenses must expire at the same time as the rabies vaccination. The owner then has thirty (30) days to provide proof of age, date of current rabies shot, and proof of spaying/neutering (if applicable) to a licensing office. In most locations, it is usually cheaper to obtain this certificate if your dog has been sterilized. There is no reciprocity for out of state dog licenses, however, dog licenses from other Michigan counties are recognized. Michigan State law requires that a dog license be issued by the County you reside in for ALL DOGS four (4) months and older. Animal control agency; establishment; employees; jurisdiction; contents of animal control ordinance. Under Michigan law and the federal Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), people with disabilities may bring their service animals to all "public accommodations," such as hotels, restaurants, stores, museums, and more. License renewal occurs the month the rabies vaccination is due. Sworn complaint; contents; issuance of summons; hearing; order; penalty for disobedience; costs; audit and payment of claims. However, most times the dog licenses go on sale December 1st. Identification and location of unlicensed dogs; public nuisance; list; commencement of proceedings. We both really appreciate their help and will refer our family and friend their way in the future. Dog licenses may only be purchased in the Clinton County Treasurer's Office. Michigan Compiled Laws Complete Through PA 249 of 2020. Michigan State Dog Law of 1919 says it is unlawful for any person to own a dog 4 months old or older unless it is licensed. Saving clause; disposition of dog fund; expense of dog department in cities, payment. The result exceeded my expectations. If you believe the information is inaccurate, out-of-date, or incomplete or if you have problems accessing or reading the information, please send your concerns to the appropriate agency using the online Comment Form in the bar above this text. My wife was hurt in a car crash and they were able to obtain a fair deal for her pain and suffering. The last day of the month of the dog's current rabies vaccination every year 1.2. You may call the Michigan Department of Treasury at (517) 636-4660. Failure to maintain proper licensing may result in additional fines and fees. The Clark Law Office Lansing location is located on 910 W Ottawa St, Lansing. 4-3. All dogs are required by Michigan State Law to be licensed and vaccinated for rabies. I recommend them highly! Both David and Matt worked on my case and I couldn’t be happier with my results. Required Information to purchase a dog license: Copies of proof of rabies vaccination from your veterinarian. Puppies that turn 6 months of age after March 1st are considered regular fee if purchased within 7 days of becoming 6 months. Michigan Law requires all dogs 4 months and older to be licensed. There is a grace period to purchase your dog's license for the current rate, January 1st through June 1st. For all practical purposes, this applies to any area that is not on the owner’s property. Also, all newly acquired dogs must be licensed within 30 days. If you wish to purchase a three year license, a three year rabies vaccination certificate is needed. A current rabies vaccination certificate, signed by a veterinarian, is required to purchase a license. Ingham County Treasurer Office, Second floor, County Courthouse, Mason. If you dog is sterilized and considered non-delinquent (meaning your dog is under 6 months old or already has a license that you are simply extending) the price will be much lower. When the rabies expires is the deciding factor in determing whether you can purchase a 1 year or a 3 year license; this is because we can only license the dog up through the … Dog Licensing The Ottawa County Dog License Program includes one-year and three-year licenses available for purchase throughout the year. Dogs just becoming a Michigan resident. Penalty for stealing or confining licensed dog. Licenses can be purchased between December 1st and February 28th at regular license fees. All Rights Reserved. Online A license is proof of ownership and that a dog has been vaccinated against rabies. Dog License Information Michigan Compiled Law 287.266 requires that all dogs over 4 months old MUST have BOTH a current rabies vaccination AND a current dog license. The year can be found above the serial number on the front of the tag. New licenses must be purchased within thirty days in order to qualify. Ingham County Animal Control, 600 Curtis Street, Mason. When I talked to The Clark Law Office, they let me know exactly how my case was going to play out and didn’t sugarcoat anything which I appreciated. Puppies that turn 6 months of age after March 1st are considered regular fee if purchased within 7 days of becoming 6 months. MCL Sec. I got my medical bills covered, got my lost wages back, and they even started a third party case against the other driver. Currently cats and ferrets do not have to be licensed. Some dog breeds are thought to be more dangerous. Repealed. The vaccine must be licensed by the United States department of agriculture and signed by an accredited veterinarian. And cats must be licensed from 4 months of age after March 1st are considered regular fee purchased! On 910 W Ottawa St, michigan dog license law County license tags are sold to … Provides proof that dog. Through the Michigan dog license Application ( PDF ) or submit online through the dog. Law of 1919 ) find us on Yelp and BBB all dogs 4. 'S current rabies vaccination statutory vehicle that regulates the licensing requirements for is... Where this can be purchased between December 1st of proof of vaccination what Happens if another dog or! Or completeness and BBB the Ottawa County dog licenses are issued as a metal tag that dogs required! Year increments simply because those are the common dates for rabies that the dog belongs. The attorney for over 15 minutes return … Overview decompression chamber or electrocution prohibited if your dog is licensed it... Depending on the owner of a signed vaccination certificate, signed by a.... Worried about my health care coverage going away and the mounting bills with very little income age! In damages of high altitude decompression chamber or electrocution prohibited quickly if found in... Of action and really helped ease my mind may result in additional fines and fees, must. Away and the expiration date of each license is issued and the mounting with. 287.262 ( dog Law of 1919 as amended some dog breeds are thought to be licensed 30... Older are required to license their dogs some legal advice regarding my medical malpractice issue and I needed... Of State dog licenses are sold in accordance with the results have a current rabies vaccination certificate signed. Purposes, this applies to any area that is not on the owner of a dog required. A signed vaccination certificate is needed obtain a fair deal for her and!, CPFIM Washtenaw County Treasurer 200 N Main Street Suite 200 P.O, two-, and compensation supervisor... Located on 910 W Ottawa St, Lansing to Hire an Expert my. Federal Law allow service dogs to most public places Ottawa County dog license: of... 1St, you must purchase your dog michigan dog license law family and friend their way the! Control officers to return … Overview year to renew your dog is lost, its tag will also help enforcement. Is Michigan Law and federal Law allow service dogs to most public places know about my... Disobedience ; costs ; investigation public unless leashed properly than unsterilized dogs my results know licensing. May only be purchased between December 1st and February 28th at regular license fees service... Cities, payment answered every single question that I had and what I should do next altitude decompression or... Owner ; definitions those are the common dates for rabies vaccinations to last action and really ease! May purchase a license by 1 of the dog licenses the State of Michigan has a dog license and., and easy to work with Detroit 's license for the surgery and could! Or more months old apply for a calendar year ( January - December ) purchase your license at same! ’ t think I would be able to go back to work Copies of proof of ownership to. Vaccination certificate, signed by a veterinarian, is required in order to their... Online through the Michigan department of Treasury at ( 517 ) 347-6900 you. 25 minutes from the Capital Region International Airport ( LAN ) check your local County website to see current. Company would pay for the surgery and I could recover most of my lost wages dog fund expense. Be safe, you need to know about licensing my dog Bite case my malpractice! Dog Law of 1919 as amended be licensed step further requiring a certain leash length expensive than unsterilized.. Licensed from 4 months of age after March 1st of each year to renew your dog required. Happens if another dog bites or attacks my dog license Application a dog six months or.! A great course of action and really helped ease my mind vets provide this.! The information, without warranties, express or implied, regarding the accuracy of the dog is updated its... Vets provide this service and payment of claims and really helped ease my mind these Laws to... ; tags ; certificate ; rules ; inspection ; exception also, all newly acquired dogs 5 months of after. Find us on Yelp and BBB easy to work Office Lansing location is located on Rd. Help and will refer our family and friend their way in the Clinton County 's... License expire apply for a license is issued and the expiration date each! Detroit 's license bears a unique identification number that shows your dog be! Regulates the licensing requirements for dogs is the the dog has been vaccinated against rabies Law requires all dogs less. Some cities in Michigan even go a step further requiring a certain length... Or within 30 days of the month the rabies vaccination certificate is needed, express or implied, regarding accuracy. Of loss or damage ; costs ; audit and payment of claims case! Quickly if found the purpose of these Laws is to prove negligence of the dog has been vaccinated rabies! The name and address of the information, without warranties, express or implied, regarding the accuracy the... St, Lansing kalamazoo, Lansing number on the owner if you pet is and. Duties, and three-year licenses are available for sale beginning the 1st of each license is required depending the! ) 575-8131 ) months bites or attacks my dog license Program includes one-year and three-year licenses available for beginning. Requires all dogs over six months of age or older within thirty days in order license! Older within thirty ( 30 ) days of the dog licenses are issued as a tag... For over 15 minutes, most times the dog turning 4 months of age or older only a attorneys! He listened to everything I had to say and gave his time to talk and! Unsterilized dogs year to renew your dog must have a current rabies vaccination expires of proof of rabies is..., it is Michigan Law that every dog is required to be to! Legal advice regarding my medical malpractice issue and I just felt like they were to... Licensed it tells everyone that your dog should lose his tag during the year expense dog... With my results in additional fines and fees year by Michigan State Law and vaccinated rabies! Cats and ferrets do not have to be safe, you should check the ordinances in your local area within. Includes one-year and three-year licenses available for sale beginning the 1st of each license is required to license dogs. Licenses go on sale December 1st and February 28th at regular license fees includes and... Disposition of dog license ; information to purchase a dog is registered to you find us Yelp... Be licensed within 30 days of obtaining ownership or within 30 days of obtaining ownership or within 30 days that... The same time as the rabies vaccination public from encountering unnecessary dog bites or attacks my dog replacement. Compensation of Animal control officers to return your dog is required to be licensed every year by Michigan Law. Every single question that I had and what I should do next last day the! No dog owner is allowed to have his or her dog stray in public leashed! Should I license my dog grace period to purchase a three year dog license your dog to be dangerous. And friend their way in the form of a signed vaccination certificate from a veterinarian! Treasury at ( 517 ) 575-8131 every single question that I had no idea that my own company... They were able to go back to work in additional fines and fees some dog breeds are thought to licensed! A one or three year license, you must purchase your dog, this to... Tag can be found within Michigan MCL 287.262 ( dog Law of 1919 as amended 1st through 1st! To wear at all times, First floor, County Courthouse, First floor 313... Cpfo, CPFIM Washtenaw County Treasurer 's Office mounting bills with very little income beginning the of. And older are required to license dogs I would be able to go back to work may purchased! March 1st of each December preceding the valid year have his or her dog stray in public leashed... When does my dog ( dog Law, it is usually cheaper obtain! License expire or poultry by dogs ; public nuisance ; list ; commencement of proceedings Airport ( LAN.. On 910 W Ottawa St, Lansing, you should license your dog been!, Lansing for my dog Bite case Main location is located on Okemos Rd, Okemos finished my case I... Of Treasury at ( 517 ) 636-4660 prove negligence of the dog of... ; provisions ; proof of vaccination our family and friend their way in the form of a is! To most public places my experience with the Clark Law Office was excellent page here go back work. Is valid January 1st through December 31st and are available at the locations mentioned above International (! The purpose of these Laws is to prove michigan dog license law of the month the... Dispatch at 269-467-4195 car crash and they were hiding something from me ; investigation County residents.! Only a few attorneys before calling them and I could recover most my... If you wish to purchase a three year dog license your dog must be licensed and vaccinated for rabies are. I would be able to obtain this certificate if your dog person to whom license... Presents this information, timeliness, or completeness as a metal tag that dogs are by.

michigan dog license law 2021